top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalia Martinez

Cold Pressed #ArcReview

Allison Temple never ceases to amaze me with her writing. This is the second book I have read by her and I didn't love it any less. Not only do I enjoy seeing returning characters in the story, but her writing always feels real.


In this installment of the Seacroft Series, we get to meet Nick and Oliver, with a return appearance from Seb, Martin, Brian, and Jess who happen to be the masterminds behind this latest matchmaking. If you haven't met Seb and Martin yet I suggest you give Top Shelf a chance and see where all the magic began, plus it's free on KU so you have nothing to lose and another amazing story to gain!


Below is a list of things I adored about this book:


  • The hilariously awkward meet-cute at the farmer's market and its repercussions. The moments in the book are so ridiculously real that you can't help but laugh. The story is complicated in ways only real life could be and I appreciate that because even though its fun to read fiction, I connect more with stories that seem like they could be happening to my next-door neighbor.


  • All slow burn scenes in this book are intense, be it at the market, at the Italian restaurant, at the house, at the juice shop. It kind of makes you want to hold your breath every time and while the book gets incredibly steamy it's always served with a side of wholesomeness, love, and understanding. I have read many indie author stories that I have loved because they represented both the sex and love in a relationship equally. I feel like a lot of Mainstream MM romance gets a bad rep because readers think it's all about sex, sure those books are out there but not all MM Romance is written the same.


  • Last but not least, the lessons it teaches and its representation. This book discusses consent, being true to yourself, taking a chance, loving someone for all that they are, mixed families, father-son dynamics, Bi-rep, coming out, protecting those who you love etc.. Everything in this book helps you understand the characters, what maybe some of your real-life friends might be going through and it also gives you an escape into another world.



Rating 4/5 ❤❤❤❤


I rated this book a 4 because I did not find myself as heavily invested in this relationship as I was when I read about Seb and Martin in Top Shelf. The relationship development is beautiful but I felt like the story was missing something even though I couldn't quite place it! Other than that it's another wholesome MM romance, that will have your heart skipping a beat. I recommend this book to any MM Romance lover, who wants to read stories that ring true and who don't mind getting a little hot and bothered in the process.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page