top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalia Martinez

Love from A-Z #NetGalleyReview

Author: S.K. Ali Released: April 30, 2019


If you don't feel like reading or want to hear me discuss this book in more detail, feel free to watch my video review of the book instead! https://www.instagram.com/mode2geek/channel/


This book had been on my radar for a while because I am a sucker for #ownvoices books, and honestly seeing a girl with a Hijab on the cover was just so powerful to me.

this is my second book this year with a Muslim girl on the cover and as a strong female character within the book, and I am here for the representation.


I'll explain why. It's not only about other races and religions seeing themselves in books and relating to the characters within them. It's about having books with stories that are different. This way we can learn about each other, our differences, our similarities, our customs, and traditions. I learned so much from reading this book, that I didn't know. I knew the choice to wear a hijab is important to the women who chose to wear it, but I couldn't see the significance. Those reasons are personal to every woman but Zayneb let me see hers. Not only did she let me see her life but she also let me see her hardships. We hear about it every day, but it's not like we experience it, but reading this story with her you do.


Experiencing both Zayneb's and Adam's experiences through their diaries makes this book intimately personal and that is what you stay for. When Zayneb stood up to her Islamophobic teacher, I cheered for her, when she continued to call him out, I admired her and by the time I finished the book I wanted to be her. She is so powerful, so brave to stand up for what she believes in to want to be seen. Listening to Adam was no different, his views on relationships, his fourth impression rule endeared him to me, when he fell off the ladder I hurt for him, and when he realized he was wrong and said he wanted to talk about their differing Muslim experiences I knew he was the one.


Both MC's and their friends all represent different ways of being Muslim, converted Muslims, hijabi, non-hijabi, mosque attending, or praying at home, they were all different. The book and characters share with us the diversity in Muslim culture, how being Muslim means different things to every person and how they represent that is up to them. We get one side in the media, almost always a horrible one or a non-compassionate one. I have Muslim friends who I respect and I am glad that their story is being told and the beauty of their religion is being shared. I was invited to celebrate Eid once, imagine it's a celebration like our Christmas. All the girls who attended wore a hijab to the celebration out of respect, me included. My friend helping me put on hijab was so exciting for her, and I was honored that I was asked to participate in something that meant so much.


When I walked into the mosque there were so many cultures, so many different styles of dress, each representing the religion of Islam based on the countries they were from. African Muslims were wearing the most beautiful patterned dress and turbans I had ever seen. The girls from Vietnam wore beautifully decorated dresses with a loose hijab, meaning you could still see their hair. The men's dress varied from country to country to and I had never experienced so much culture in one room. Many people will never give themselves a chance to experience this, so books like this are needed to fill in the blanks.


Last but not least the Meet-Cute between Adam and Zayneb is full of discovery, obstacles, and understanding. Full of wonder, of anticipation. Following the rules of courting was one of my favorite things to read about because god when you get to the part about H2O and onion you are going to die laughing. I know it doesn't make sense now but it will when you give this beautiful book a chance. At the end of the day, they are teenagers, regardless of the heartfelt and hard topics that are dealt with in this book. So, the flirting is there, the tension is there, the banter is there and you will love every single minute of it!


Rating 5/5 ❤❤❤❤❤


Topics discussed in this book:

  • Muslim Rep- Unapologetically Muslim, it's like the Black Panther of the Muslim community, in book form.

  • Multiple Sclerosis- A very specific case of MS is discussed based on a close friend of the writer who continued to fall into MS remission

  • Micro-Aggression- the professor and some of Adam's friends that she meets, later on, contribute to these issues.

  • Multicultural Rep- Their families are from all over Finland, China, Canada, etc.

  • Converted Muslims- At least one of the families was not originally Muslim but made the decision to convert later, it also discusses the choice of converting as you are growing up.

  • Islamophobia- Could be slightly triggering, this professor is on a mission and he is not being nice about it, or in the way, he is portraying the Islamic religion in the classroom. So not only is he misinformed but he is creating a whole lot of more misinformed people.

  • Cultural Appropriation- There are instances were Zayneb calls out students for appropriating Native American culture because the girl wore a headdress as a Halloween costume.

  • Injustice- A lot of things happen throughout the book and Zayneb isn't one to stay quiet, so you get to see her grow and learn to manage the situations in a way that she can make a difference.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page