top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalia Martinez

Hot Dog Girl #ARCreview

Author: Jennifer Dugan Pages: 309 Release Date: April 30, 2018

Disclaimer: (I won this ARC in a Twitter giveaway. My opinions are unbiased and my own)


So let's begin with the rep! The first thing I wrote in my notes as I read, is how quickly the characters sexual identity is established on the page. We have lesbian rep and bi-rep in multiple characters and it was just beautiful to see them being unapologetic about it from the get-go.


The friendship between Lou and Seeley is the epitome of best friends and I love them for it. They are there for each other through everything, but this reaches a point of contention for me, in which I almost doubted the book but we can come back to that. Their banter is funny! hands down one of my favorite lines goes like this:


"Don't be an ass in my time of crisis" -Seeley

so you get an idea of how this friendship goes. It's honest and open until it isn't.


I won't spoil the plot point but basically, there comes a point in the book where Elouise turns into a bit of a brat towards everyone and I considered putting the book down, not because it wasn't well written but because I can't stand people like that, even when they are fictional. I am glad I continued reading though because she soon realized the stupidity that she brought upon herself in typical teenage fashion.


Towards the last 30 pages, I was literally screaming to the wind at Seeley, and when you read the book you will know why. The ending was one of the most crushing and beautiful things I have ever read. I was there when Elouise sat on Seeley's window sill and wrote that letter. I cried with Elouise, I shouted with her, I also wanted what she wanted. Even though Elouise put me through hardships, and I disliked her for a hot minute, when I got to the end and closed the book I loved her so much.


I also loved the rest of the characters, some more superficial than others but I loved the conflict, the realness, the complexity they added to the story. It was good to see a story where everyone is ok with them being out, supported and not reading about a story of a kid getting bashed for her sexuality in high school. I know those things do happen, and that the environment is not as open as it could be but there are so many stories that could be told about the #lgbtqia community that includes happiness in it.

I love that this book exists because it can now be added to a growing number of books that young teenagers that identify as #lgbtqia, can read and see characters to which they can relate and know that it indeed does get better.


Rating 4/5 ❤❤❤❤

As you read, I loved this book. It made me feel like I was sixteen again reliving my high school experience. That time when I thought I was wise beyond my years when I really knew nothing. This story sees the characters learn to love, to make mistakes, to grow and to understand each other despite their original intentions. A lot of things go wrong in this book but so much also goes right! I love that at the end of it all the biggest lesson you take away is that the choices you make good or bad lead you to where you are. Only, if you are willing to admit you were wrong a couple of times along the way.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page