top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalia Martinez

Playing Around #BookReview

Author: Suzanne Clay Pages: 311

Details- New Adult

Sex can be found in its pages.

Love too.


This book was intense, it had me asking so many questions and fearing for the worst half the time. Logan and Christian have been best friends since kindergarten, but now they are away from home at university and they have freedom. It is a new experience. Whereas in their neighborhood they were the only black men, here they were part of a diverse campus and a forward-thinking one at that.


Rep that can be found between these pages:

-Gay Rep

-Bi Rep

-Lesbian rep

-Trans rep

- explanations on relationships like ethical

non-monogamy and polyamory among others.

-Black MC's


Christian gets a girlfriend, before Logan, and everything changes. Logan doesn't understand how he fits into Christian's life anymore and he's jealous. The question is is he jealous of the time they share, or is he jealous because she has him? I won't spoil the answer to that question because it is one I asked myself a couple of times. Logan moves on though and he gets a girlfriend too, Kelly Anne, fun, loving, Christian girl and Christian has Charlotte an Ethical non-monogamous girlfriend, which he is not aware of but the story gets even better when he finds that bit out. (Get ready for the temperature to rise in your room)


Let's take a pause, it does get steamy in there, and I don't think I took notes during that whole section of the book but I wanted to tell you something important. Charlotte being ethically non-monogamous, shared in the story an insane amount of knowledge on other types of relationships between consenting adults that exist out there. Not only was I getting a read on but man I also learned a lot. She shows the reader that there are relationship options for every person, even if it isn't the one for you.


Back to the hot take, so a double date gets interesting and things cross a line, do they uncross it, is it a line they can walk on, or will they eventually fall off? read to find out. I literally was on edge the whole time with Christian's hot/cold moods, I thought I was going to die in between the pages of heat and of anger. I for one had never seen a relationship of this kind in a book before and it was so understanding, full of conversations full of what ifs. Charlotte did not let Christian hide behind her instead she pushed him to find himself, who he is, who he loves, who we wants to be.


Logan meanwhile came to terms with a couple of things a bit faster which made me want to embrace him every step of the way, to encourage him to follow his feelings or to tell him to stop when I was afraid he would get hurt.


The cool part of this book is that while the stories of the MC's are important the other characters don't fall by the wayside, they also have compelling, eye-opening, accepting storylines, that make the MC's and themselves come to understand and act on a lot of things that seemed unfamiliar before.


Rating 5/5 ❤❤❤❤❤


This book comes with a side of steam, a main dish of acceptance, and some LGBTQIA+ knowledge as an appetizer and I loved every minute of it. Did I scream? yes. Did I wonder? yes, but that's the whole point of the book. It's their journey but it's yours too!







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page