top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalia Martinez

Pregnant in Pennsylvania #BookReview

Author: Jasinda Wilder Release Date: April 12, 2019

Full Disclosure: I am part of the street team for this book so I was given an ARC, but my opinion is unbiased and my own.



Welcome to the first stop on our road trip of 50 States of Love, Clayton, Pennsylvania!


I'm going, to be honest, there was a time where all I read was romance novels, but those times are in the past. Let's just say I was skeptical going into this book, and man did Jasinda prove me wrong! This book had everything funny moments, witty banter, body positivity, family values, respect, consent, love, you name it, she covered it.


This book tells the story of Elyse a single, divorced mom, with a third-grade son, who comes across Jamie, a man from out of town and well in true romance fashion things get complicated. The way it gets complicated is what made the book real and compelling to me. Elyse obviously feels a strong connection to Jamie, ever since the day they met and that much is clear as we listen to her thoughts throughout the story but she has her son Aiden to think about. Aiden was devastated when his dad left, thinking that it was his fault, and he's finally getting his bearings back, and his mom doesn't want to ruin that. I applaud her for putting her son first, sometimes in books like these, there is a common trope where the woman falls for the man and all of a sudden the story continues on as if the child does not factor into the situation. However, we all know children always factor in.


Taking her time making her decision also allowed us to get to know the people around her. Cora, her mom and dad, people that mean something to her and Aiden, and it allowed us to get to know Jamie, the man in question in a better way. It may have been an attraction at first sight, but allowing us time to get to know Jamie as his own person in the story, really makes you love them together. It wasn't forced. Reading their story was like cheering on a friend, rooting for her, for Aiden when he asked the tough questions, with her for being candid and honest with her son. You know why? because in real life a parent does that. At the end that is what really sold me about this book, Its realness.


Things that are discussed openly in the book are topics that I normally don't see handled well, miscarriages, reasons for divorce, respect for someone's decisions, parenthood, teenage pregnancy, surviving as a single mom, depression, etc. these things bring the story home. Her friend Cora makes you think of your friends, how she is subtly giving you advice but also being honest when you are making the wrong decisions. Overall this book 100% love and realness, no love at first sights, no relationship out of nowhere, real progression. Maybe that's why I stopped reading romance novels because they didn't feel real. I am glad I am out of that reading slump, thanks Jasinda! on we go to next 49 states!


Rating 5/5❤❤❤❤❤


I honestly can not say enough good things about this book without ruining the plot line for you so I will leave it at this. If you are looking for a good, honest romance, I recommend you pick up this book!


  • GOODREADS LINK:

  • IBOOKS PREORDER PREGNANT IN PENNSYLVANNIA:

  • COWBOY IN COLORADO (AUG 2nd)

  • MARRIED IN MICHIGAN PRE ORDER (OCT 4th)

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page